top of page

Voting for Women is Investing in Equality

You can call me a dreamer, yes, maybe I do dream a lot in my sleep. I choose to see the world with a small rainbow filter and I want to share my voting experience of 2020. A few days ago I walked into the voting center where my voter registration had designated for me to be, a simple Baptist Church. I'm not from the south, and this being my first participation in the process as a Georgia resident my structural mind tried to throw away the whole separation between church and state. On one hand I liked that my community we were coming to a place of calm, peace, and sanity if nothing else. The church. On the other, I walk with multiple lenses of perspective so I could see how some of my LGBT family could be distanced from coming to the poll for sheer uncomfortably, especially for those whose family are well rooted in the community. The promising sign was that there were people already in line at 8:45 am.

I had a dream about Kamala Harris the night prior. She was it for me. She still is. I believe in her blood, her passion, I see her as president one day. I went and researched everyone that was going to be on the poll. Everyone. And to be honest, the level of support women need to run to office should be stronger. A lot louder.

I voted for the best capable female in each ring, I regret to inform that for some weird reason I had put in my heart that I wouldn't vote for my gender anymore. I am not going to give power to any more men in my lifetime. On the dais, I couldn't vote for Joe Biden. I know he is the person that we have to vote for to beat Trump, and I truly need Trump out of the white house, but I couldn't give Joe my vote. I voted for Kamala Harris for president. I really hope Joe picks an African American woman as his VP, and not Kamala by the way. She is no one's VP to me. The BLM movement should show how the black people need and want representation, and the world isn't going to allow us to not be seen any longer. The African American woman is the most educated demographic to the second most educated demographic Asian men 11:7, they are the smartest group of Americans, statistically.

It should bother every American citizen that a woman has never held the highest office in the land. Are we not the most progressive and free of the worlds? Yet the United Kingdom, our nation's grandmother has had 3 women elected as Prime Minister. Voting for women creates a different air in politics, in the community, women do things differently than man, that's why there to be need be more women in power. Period.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page